The Death Penalty

Don’t ask me why, but I have been thinking a lot about the 2012 California ruling/defeat of Prop 34, to eliminate the death penalty.

This is my preface for current and future political posts:While I am a registered Democrat and fully, 100% support President Barack Obama, I also greatly support the Green Party, and lovely Jill Stein. I am also extremely liberal.

Don’t get me wrong here, I absolutely hate remorseless murders (and I don’t hate many things); however, I voted to eliminate the death penalty in the most recent election. I felt that I had enough reason to blog about this because it had been on my mind, and why not share my political sensibilities with my exiguous readers?

When one commits murder, they are almost indefinitely sent to prison for 25-to-life, regardless of the situation. We all know there are different types of murder: first degree “in cold blood”, self defense, second degree, accidental, etc. The lines drawn between these different types of murder and few and far between, which is why this proposition was so controversial – what if we execute an innocent person? There are also circumstances in which the murderer shows ultimate remorse, realizes what they have done, and accepts the consequences of the actions; these cases deserve more insight… I believe there is good in almost everyone, and while one might need to pay the consequences regardless, some punishments do not need to be as resilient. Murder trial, in general, is extremely touchy and difficult, but I am here to discuss why I think the death penalty should be eliminated.

Did you know that the annual cost of the present death penalty system are estimated to be $137 per year? Versus the cost of lifetime incarceration in a maximum security prison, which is estimated to be $11.5 million per year (deathpenaltyinfo.org). This is reason number one – as a taxpayer, I would personally much prefer my money to go to education or health care.

Now, I have never been to prison, I have never even stepped foot in one (something I would actually really like to do one day), so I can not tell you exactly what it is like to be incarcerated, especially a high security prison. But I have a pretty good feeling that it is not too enjoyable. However, many people who commit murder are struggling mentally, or dealing with a deeper self-crisis – these people often see death as an escape, hoping for a better life on the other side, whatever that may be. In executing them, we are giving [most] these despicable human beings exactly what they want, to die. A life sentence without the possibility of parole, on the other hand, seems like hell (at least to me, personally, I don’t know about you). So wouldn’t it make sense that a life sentence without parole would be a worse punishment than execution, in most cases? And isn’t that what remorseless murders deserve, a due punishment?

I am extremely perplexed that this proposition did not pass in California, but I accept a democracy nonetheless. I solely wanted to share my insight on this incredibly controversial subject, and I hope I have been able to make some people rethink their political sensibilities.

One thought on “The Death Penalty

  1. I believe that life imprisonment (with or without the possibility of parole) is actually a more inhumane punishment than death (provided that the execution method used is as quick and painless as possible). Further I am wondering whether it’s better to be executed wrongly than to be locked up as an innocent for many decades, from the perspective of the wrongly convicted. Yes, no one should be convicted wrongly, whether one can receive the death penalty or not.

Holla at me.

